Wage Disputes Over Minimum Wage & Hour Laws Violation
Some studies estimate that between 2 and 3 million workers in the United States are not being paid the minimum wage required by law. This exploitation of workers by companies is not only unfair but illegal. At Miller Cohen, P.L.C., we fight for Michigan employees who are not receiving minimum wage. The federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) governs both minimum wage and overtime pay, and also prohibits child labor. Michigan’s Wage and Overtime Law supplements the FSLA with regulations that apply specifically to Michigan workers. Employers who violate these state and federal wage and hour regulations need to be held fully accountable.
If you or someone you know is not being paid at least $9.45 per hour or you believe you have not been paid for the time you have worked, contact the Detroit, Michigan, employment law attorneys at Miller Cohen, P.L.C., today to schedule a free consultation.
Our lawyers have the experience and knowledge of the court system needed to effectively negotiate or litigate your claim for unpaid wages. Call 313-566-4787;Toll-Free: 800-221-6021.
Michigan’s Current Wage And Hour Laws
Employees are entitled to be paid for all of the hours they work and deserve to be paid a living wage. Although there are exceptions, Michigan employers must pay the following minimum hourly wages:
January 1, 2018: $9.25 (adults); $7.86 (minors)
March 29, 2019: $9.45 (adults); $8.03 (minors)
January 1, 2020: $9.65 (adults); $8.20 (minors)
January 1, 2021: $9.87 (adults); $8.39 (minors)
Can My Employer Pay Me Less Than The Minimum Hourly Wage If I Receive Tips?
Employees such as waiters, waitresses, bartenders and other workers who receive tips from customers or clients may be paid less per hour than the minimum wage if they receive and report tips that, when combined with their hourly wage, are equal to or exceed the minimum hourly wage rate. The minimum wage for tipped employees is:
January 1, 2018: $3.52
March 29, 2019: $3.59
January 1, 2020: $3.67
January 1, 2021: $3.75
Can My Employer Pay Me Less Than The Minimum Wage If I Am In Training?
New employees who are between 16 and 19 years of age can be paid a lower hourly wage during a 90-day training period.
Are There Any Other Circumstances In Which The Minimum Hourly Wage Does Not Have To Be Paid?
Michigan’s minimum wage laws only apply to employers with two or more employees and only protects employees who are 16 years of age or older. In certain situations, such as employing a person with disabilities, an employer may receive approval to pay less than the minimum wage rate.
We Have The Experience You Need For Your Wage And Hour Law Dispute
Our labor attorneys have significant experience handling wage and hour claims and in recovering money for Michigan employees who have not received their rightful pay. In addition, we have the resources and experience needed to pursue class action wage and hour disputes on behalf of labor unions and other employees.
Contact us for a free case evaluation with an experienced employee advocate and wage dispute attorney.